There Are Several Types Of Yoga

There are several types of Yoga ,each one for a different purpose,and each one is a path to enlightment .There are yoga exercises that are for breathing ,for stretching,for meditation for pain relief and so on.There are 6 major types of yoga :

Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga is practiced in the west mostly for health and vitality, and is the most popular in western society.

“Ha” is a Sanskrit term meaning sun,and “tha” means “moon” so hatha yoga is a “marvelous means of exercising,stretching, and freeing the body so it can be a healthy, longlived,and vital instrument of the mind and soul”.

Raja Yoga

Similar to classical yoga, Raja Yoga is considered the “royal path” to unifying the mind and body. Raja yoga is
considered by some to be a rather difficult type of yoga, because it seeks enlightenment through direct control and mastery of the mind.

People who can concentrate well and enjoy meditation are best suited for Raja yoga. This type – or branch – of yoga has 8 limbs.

Karma Yoga

Karma yoga involves selfless action. The word karma itself means action – all actions that come from the individual beginning from his birth until his death. Most importantly,karma is the path to doing the right thing. Hence the 35 practice of karma yoga means giving up the ego to serve God and humanity.

Karma yoga comes from the teachings of the Bhagavad Vita,which is sometimes respectfully referred to as “the New Testament of Hinduism”. Service to God through serving others is the foundation of Karma Yoga.

Bhakti Yoga

Bhakti yoga is thus seen as divine love. As a force of attraction, Swami Nikhilananda and Sri Ramakrishna Math say that love operates on three levels:

1. material
2. human
3. spiritual

These two yogis further explain that love is a creative power, and this creative power pushes us to seek joy and immortality.

Jnana Yoga

Jnana means “knowledge” or “wisdom” or “insight”.It actually is a search to “who we are”.
It uses both practice and theory and when one achieves to get in he desired level is like lighting a candle in the dark!

Tantra Yoga

A sixth type of yoga that many people have heard about,and indeed, are quite curious about, is tantra yoga.

Tantra yoga is considered by some to be most oriental of all yoga branches. It is often misunderstood as consisting exclusively of sexual rituals. It involves more than sex: it is the path of self-transcendence through ritual means, one of which is just consecrated sexuality. Some tantric schools actually recommend a celibate lifestyle after a certain point.

Tantra literally means “expansion.” A Tantra devotee expands all his levels of consciousness so he/she can reachout to the Supreme Reality. Tantra yoga aims to awaken the male and female aspects within a person to trigger a spiritual awakening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *