Chakras - What Are They?

Chakras are described as energy centers along the spine located at major branchings of the human nervous system, beginning at the base of the spinal column and moving upward to the top of the skull, through which, believers assert, pass 3 major energy channels, Sushumna, Ida and Pingala. Chakras are considered to be a point or nexus of biophysical energy or prana of the human body. Shumsky asserts that “prana is the basic component of your subtle body, your energy field, and the entire chakra system the key to life and source of energy in the universe.
There are hundreds of Chakras but 7 of them are mostly described:

Opening the Chakras

The importance of the Chakras is to open them and finetune them so to get benefited from the energy it runs through them and make our health and our whole life better.
The opening of the Chakras can be achieved with several different methods ,like:
-and more..

By practicing yoga someone can open his/her chakras and achieve high performance of the benefits of each chakra.Anyway,opening your chakras is like building a house that starts from building its foundations.So the first chakra to be open should be the Root (Muladhara) Chakra and then to move on opening the rest of the chakras.

The Colors Of The Chakras

Each Chakra has its own color!When a Chakra is activated it produces a particular color.

The Crown Chakra

crown chakraThe Crown Chakra is about our ability to get conected with our spiritual nature.It appears as a lotus violet blossom with thousand opened petals.

The top of our head

The color of the 7th Chakra
Violet or white

Opening the 7th Chakra


3rd Eye Chakra

3rdeye The 3rd Eye Chakra is about wisdom,imagination,the ability to focus and to be able to see further in the whole universe.

The 3rd eye chakra is located in the forhead between the eyes.
When this chakra is open it provides you with good intuition and ability to learn,to think and to make decisions.

The color of the 3rd Eye Chakra is indigo.

Yoga asanas that open this chakra
Child`s Pose and other asanas with forward bends.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

throat chakra The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) can be understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. This chakra is parallel to the thyroid gland, which is also in the throat and which produces thyroid hormone, responsible for the growth and maturation.


The color of The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Yoga asanas that open The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)


The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart ChakraThe Heart Chakra (Anahata) is related to the thymus, located in the chest. The thymus is an immune system and part of the endocrine system. It is the site of maturation of T cells responsible for repelling the disease and may be affected by stress.

The color of The Heart Chakra (Anahata)
The Heart Chakra (Anahata) is related to the green or pink.

The main issues involving Anahata involve complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection and well-being. Physically Anahata governs circulation, emotionally it governs unconditional love for self and others, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion

Center of chest just above heart.


Yoga asanas that open The Heart Chakra
Bikram Yoga


The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

solar plexus chakra.jpgThe Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is related to metabolism and digestion. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is supposed to correspond to the islets of Langerhans , which are groups of cells in the pancreas and the adrenal glands and outer adrenal cortex. These play an important role in digestion, the conversion of food matter into energy for the body.

Upper abdomen in the stomach area

The color of The Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow.

Yoga asanas that open the Solar Plexus Chakra
Kundalini Yoga ,the Boat Pose


The Sacral Chakra

Sacral ChakraThe Sacral chakra is located in the sacrum (hence the name) and is considered to correspond to the testicles or ovaries that produce the various sex hormones involved in the reproductive cycle. Swadisthana is also considered to be related to, more generally, the genitourinary system and adrenal glands.

Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.


Yoga asanas that open the Sacral Chakra
Cobra Pose


The Root Chakra

The Root ChakraThe Root Chakra (Muladhara) is related to instinct, security, survival and also to the basic human power. The center is located in the perineum, which is the area between the genitals and anus. Although no endocrine organ is placed here, it is said to relate to the gonads and the adrenal medulla, responsible for fight or flight response when survival is threatened. It is a muscle located in this region that controls ejaculation during sex the human male. A parallel is drawn between the sperm and egg in which the genetic code is coiled and the kundalini.

The root chakra is located at the base of spine in the tailbone area.

Red color.

Yoga asanas that open the Root Chakra
Practicing Kundalini Yoga can help opening the Root Chakra.

Key issues involve sexuality, desire and obsession. Physically, Muladhara governs sexuality, mentally it governs stability, emotionally it governs sensuality, and spiritually it governs a sense of security.


You might find help to open your Chakras with the videos below:

Chakra Healing System

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *